REL Southwest Governing Board


Ms. Jacqualine Govan* (Board Vice Chair)
Collaboration Director
Arkansas Head Start Association
Little Rock, AR

Mr. Johnny Key
Commissioner of Education
Arkansas Department of Education
Little Rock, AR

Dr. Gary Ritter
Professor/Director of Office for Education Policy
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR


Mr. John White
State Superintendent of Education
Louisiana Department of Education
Baton Rouge, LA

Mr. Hollis G. Milton*
Superintendent, West Feliciana Parish Schools
President, Louisiana Association of School Superintendents
St. Francisville, LA

Dr. Brian Riedlinger*
Chief Executive Officer
School Leadership Center of
Greater New Orleans
New Orleans, LA

New Mexico

Dr. Anya Dozier Enos*
Curriculum/Professional Development Director
Santa Fe Indian School
Santa Fe, NM

Dr. Scott D. Hughes
Associate Research Professor
Center for Education Policy Research, University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM

Ms. Hanna Skandera
Secretary of Education
New Mexico Public Education Department
Santa Fe, NM



Ms. Joy Hofmeister
State Superintendent of Public Instruction
Oklahoma State Department of Education
Oklahoma City, OK

Dr. Norma Neely* (Board Chair)
Director, American Indian Institute
University of Oklahoma
Norman, OK

Ms. Tresha D. Spoon
Education Director and Parent Representative
Absentee Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
Norman, OK


Dr. Linda G. Castillo
Professor, Educational Psychology
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX

Dr. Kenneth W. Heydrick
Executive Director
Texas STEM Coalition
Austin, TX

Mr. Mike Morath
Commissioner of Education
Texas Education Agency
Austin, TX

*REL Southwest research alliance member