Celebration of REL Southwest's Accomplishments 2012–2017

The final Governing Board meeting of the 2012–17 Regional Educational Laboratory (REL) Southwest contract was held in Austin, Texas, on September 6–7, 2017. The meeting included a reception celebrating and showcasing our work of the past five years. REL Southwest staff, Governing Board members, and American Institutes for Research (AIR) colleagues in the Austin office gathered to share lessons learned and highlights of the past five years.

Six Governing Board members shared their thoughts on the importance of the REL work in their states and the impacts they've seen.

On display at the reception were posters highlighting the following research studies and technical assistance projects, as well as posters and other collateral describing our eight research alliances:

The following Governing Board members attended:

  • Chairperson Norma Neely, Ph.D., Director, American Indian Institute, University of Oklahoma Outreach
  • Vice Chairperson Jacqueline Govan, Collaboration Director, Arkansas Head Start Association
  • Linda Castillo, Ph.D., Professor, Educational Psychology, Texas A&M University
  • Anya Dozier-Enos, Ph.D., Curriculum/Professional Development Director, Santa Fe Indian School, NM
  • Kenn Heydrick, Ph.D., Executive Director, Texas STEM Coalition
  • Scott Hughes, Ph.D., Associate Research Professor, Center for Education Policy Research, University of New Mexico
  • Tresha D. Spoon, Director of Education, Absentee Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Dr. Gary Ritter, 21st Century Endowed Chair in Education Policy, University of Arkaksas (via phone)

< Previous article    Next article >

Back to Newsroom