IES and REL Program News

RSS Content

View all REL news

General Education News

RSS Content

View all news

Principals in OK and TX Receive Terrel Bell Award

In a ceremony on November 21, 2014, U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan recognized eight Blue Ribbon principals—including three from the REL Southwest Region—as Terrel H. Bell Award recipients. Named for a former secretary of education, this award honors school leaders who promote excellence in their schools, teachers, and students. We want to congratulate the winners for their outstanding achievement, including the three in the REL Southwest Region:

  • Kathy Hunt, Edmond Doyle Elementary School, McAlester, Oklahoma
  • Melissa Helene Jacobs-Thibaut, Houston Academy for International Studies, Houston, Texas
  • Britani Creel Moses, LaVance Stewart Elementary School, Kemah, Texas

The ceremony also recognized 340 schools—including 47 from the REL Southwest Region—as 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools. This award recognizes public and private schools that exhibit overall academic excellence or progress in closing achievement gaps.